Sports Opinion & Analysis

The World Loves The Olympics. It’s The Only Time Everyone Can Openly Express Their Hatred For Other Countries

In Olympics on July 30, 2012 at 10:47 am

Today’s article is going to be a quick because I’m totally obsessed with the Olympics, and I’m having a hard time pulling myself away from Men’s Rowing to do anything else in my life. I can already tell it’s going to be a long two weeks until the August 12th closing ceremony.

Regardless, a funny thing happened the other day. I found myself watching USA Women’s Team Volleyball and yelling “BEAT THE KOREANS!” while I did. Did I also mention I was in a restaurant, surrounded by other people yelling the same thing, and it was the middle of the morning?

This was weird to me, because A) I don’t have a problem with Korea, and B) I normally don’t get all excited about Women’s Team Volleyball. Or Men’s Rowing for that matter.

“USA! USA! USA!”

But this is the Olympics, so it’s totally okay to freak out about Table Tennis while expressing how (as demonstrated by their opening ceremony when compared to others) the Brits can’t do anything that isn’t depressing and totally unwatchable, the Chinese are beating us in everything, and then there’s the Australians. Oh man, don’t even get me started about the Australians.

It’s okay though, I’m not xenophobic, it’s just the Olympics.

I also know I’m not the only one feeling this way. Because of our world culture which says it’s okay to openly jeer other people who root for different teams than our own, the Olympics offer an opportunity to say things about other countries that otherwise might be considered, at best, a fist fight, or at worst, an act of war in any other setting.

For the next few weeks, enjoy this moment, and remember to embrace our nation, good sportsmanship and hyperbole as we try to knock the living crap out of everyone else in the world at the things we do best. Our dollar might not be so strong, but trying beating us in basketball!

USA! USA! USA!

Leave a Reply

